Gaa News: Donie Smith Cup and Underage results


Division 4 County League  Final

Date: Saturday 14th 

Time: 7pm 

Venue: Aughaville 

Best of Luck to Team and Management 

Results From this weeks matches 

Minor County Quarter Final 

Beara 4.09 Barrs 2.06

U14 West Region Championship Semi Final 

Town 6.9 Kilmackabea 5.7

U12 West Region Cup Final

Castletownbere lost by a single point against Newcestown in the final few minutes of the game

U8 Blitz

A great day was had by the U8’s in Droum unfortunately they didn’t make the final but great players coming up

Donie Smith Harrington Final

Castletownbere retained the Donal Harrington Trophy in cahermore last weekend on a scoreline of 0-16 to 0-10 .
Castletownbere  started the game well but it was Garnish who scored the opening score. Town settled after this and got the next 5 points through Mark Harrington (free) and another from play ,Reece Dillane with a superb free,Richard Murphy and another from play from Mark Harrington to leave Castletownbere 0-5 to 0-01 at the end of the first quarter.

Garnish got the next two points to leave it 0-5 to 0-3. Town responded again well and got points from Andrew o Sullivan ,Richard Murphy ,Reece Dillane. Declan Dunne with a great effort for goal drew a super save from Garnish goalie who tip it over. Sub Oliver Byrne with his first touch, after entering the fray got a super point ,to leave the half time score Castletownbere 0-11 garnish 0-5.
Second half became scrappy and a lot of frees awarded for both teams ,Garnish got the first two score of the half to reduce the lead to 0-11 to 0-07. Reece Dillane kicked towns first score of the half to settle Town again and another shortly after from Liam Hanley had the lead back to 0-6. Garnish kicked 2 further frees and Town finished out the scoring with a point from sub Cormac Whelan and two more from Dillane ,to see the final score sitting at Castletownbere 0-16 garnish 0-11.

Mary Harrington presented her late husbands trophy to captain on the day Dean Hegarty and team captain Shane McCarthy .